The Month in Books #1

~ Macbeth by William Shakespeare                                                                                                

~ Room by Emma Donoghue

~ Stay by Deb Caletti

~ The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Macbeth was a superb read and I have done a post on it already. It was a nice september read and got me nostalgic about my school days.

Room is a book that lived up to all its acclaim. The metaphorical title
intrigued me and I picked it up from my library the moment I saw it. Funnily
though, I never realised that the world was already very well acquainted with
it. The narration captured me first thing. Writing from the perspective of a
cloistered five year old, in my opinion, is a very challenging task and only a
talented writer can pull off something like Room. The innocence in the
diologues rings with truth everytime, I wondered if I would ever be able to do
justice to such a character so neatly. That is the aspect I most admire in
Emma. The humour sandwiched between the emotional tangles and the plot
heightens the attachment to the characters. This is one book in recent times
where I really perceived the “realness” of the characters.

These are some of my favourite lines from the book:

“Scared is what you’re feeling. Brave is what you’re doing.”

“If I was made of cake I’d eat myself before somebody else could.”

The last lines of the book are some of the best and left me with the feeling
of wholesomeness of having read a really good book. Here’s the line:

“I look back one more time. It’s like a crater, a hole where something
happened.”

Stay by Deb Caletti was another profound book. The vividity in the setting absorbed me into it within few minutes of taking up the book. The images of the
beach, the lighthouse, the quaint town where the heart of the story takes place made me love the book with every unfolding sentence. I had a lot to sympathise
with the anti-hero guy, Christian. The aspects I loved about the book most: the pace, the settings, the characters: Christian, the obsessive lover and Sylvie
Genovese, the tough and weird lady, the ghosts-both the mythical and the metaphorical and perhaps the romance too. Above all the little observations on
life put in a very stylistic manner filled in all the gaps or rather bonded the other elements together more stongly. At the end of it, I felt it was a good
book. It would make for a pleasant read on a sunday afternoon.

Some of my favourite lines from the book:

…I hurried, and for the first time in a while I was hurrying because of
something good in front of me instead of something bad behind me.

…And fate gives love some extra authority. Like it’s been stamped with
approval from above, if you believe in above.

The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne is a classic. You can find my love for it here.

On the whole it has been a great September in the reading front. And the books I’ve piled up to read in October are calling me now.

4 thoughts on “The Month in Books #1

  1. I loved Room too! But sadly, I can’t find her other books, such as Slammerkin.

    Btw, have you read Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle? They both use the child narrator brillantly.

    • Hi Eustacia, I don’t seem to find her other books too. And no, I haven’t the book by Roddy Doyle. I surely hope to read it now though. I always love books with unique narrations and child narrations are so touchy and humourous.

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  2. Great finds! I had the opportunity to read Stay as an egalley, but didn’t have time to read it. I should pick it up from the library…and Room sounds intriguing! Really great quotes you pulled from there! I think I want to own the “Scared is what you’re feeling. Brave is what you’re doing” quote! ^_^

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Please don’t let ‘Stay’ stay in your TBR pile for long 😉 😉 It’s a good book. Do tell me what you thought about it 🙂 Room figures into my Top 10 books of 2011 and it deserves every bit of praise it’s getting.

Leave a Reply

