Take Diversion

It shocks me when I think about how much I go fishing for author bios. In almost every literary magazine that I read there’s a blog address or email and it’s ever so easy to look them up on the net. And if such information is not available I make full use of my googling skills to pull up the person’s carefully isolated website. The reason I do that is simply because I get inspired by their stories. I’m always curious to know a bit more about the writer also for the reason that I can enjoy the person’s work better. If I know that the writer loves chocolate I can be sure that I can pull through the most boring or scary scene in his book. Also it guarantees bragging rights for me- “Hey, so you know Emily Awesome Writer loves Ben and Jerry’s Chubby Hubby ice cream!”

Okay…yes. I couldn’t get as much reading done(I have fairly good reasons too) as I thought to be posting about it. So instead I’ll share some of my favourite author bio’s.

~ Elizabeth Eulberg – Here’s a writer you should read if you’re a part of JAJ because I simply loved her ‘Prom and Prejudice’

~ Kelcey Parker – Very witty

~ Elizabeth Gilbert – I love her and expect you would be reading it if you loved ‘Eat, Pray, Love’.

~ John Lescroart – A tale which which has to be read.

~ Miranda Dickinson – Musical Miranda I should say for there’s an album she’s done. Her new book has such a cute title, I’m excited to read it just for that.

*************************************

2 thoughts on “Take Diversion

  1. I’m just the opposite; it’s not that I’ll avoid information about an author completely, but that I feel I don’t need to know details about them and their lives to enjoy their stories. I don’t read many blogs by writer’s and my favourite (Warren Ellis’) is actually more a new media hub than a blog. I think a writer’s writing can, and should, be able to speak for itself. I don’t need to know how much is personal or entirely fictional, and I certainly don’t need to feel like the author is somehow my friend just because I’m reading their book. I prefer to immerse myself in the world they’ve created (I read a lot of fiction) and imagine the characters as my friends.

    As a writer I of course know the characters *are* the writer in one way or another. And I also appreciate it that most writers these days understand that it’s improbable to stay locked up in a room with no contact with their audience except the writing. I write a blog and I’m a writer. I get it. Still. It’s just not important to me to know that Neil Gaiman has two white dogs and that he likes to take long walks in the forest. You know?

    • I totally get it. But my love for getting to know them better stems from the very love I have for stories. Sometimes a writer has such interesting background that he/she may just inspire in me a new quirky twist to the characters in my works.

Leave a Reply

